The President

President of the Republic of Slovenia Borut Pahor.

The President of the Republic  represents the Republic of Slovenia and is the commander-in-chief of its armed forces. The President calls general elections, promulgates laws, nominates candidates for Prime Minister to the National Assembly following talks with the leaders of deputy groups, candidates for judges of the Constitutional Court and members of the Court of Audit, appoints and recalls ambassadors, accepts the credentials of foreign diplomats, grants clemencies, etc.

The President has no influence over the composition of the government, which is the task of the Prime Minister and the National Assembly. The President of the Republic is elected for a five-year term in direct general elections by secret ballot. A President may serve a maximum of two consecutive terms.

Presidents of the Republic of Slovenia/Terms of Office

Milan Kučan: 1992 - 2002

Dr Janez Drnovšek: 2002 - 2007

Dr Danilo Türk: 2007 - 2012

Borut Pahor:Since 22 December 2012