Political system

Democratic parliamentary republic, since 1991; member of the EU since 1 May 2004. Photo: UKOM Archive


The Republic of Slovenia is a parliamentary democratic republic that became an independent state after the disintegration of Yugoslavia in 1991. The present Constitution of the Republic of Slovenia was adopted on 23 December 1991, following the results of a plebiscite on the sovereignty and independence of Slovenia on 23 December 1990, when Slovenes overwhelmingly voted for independence.

President of the Republic: Borut Pahor

Prime Minister: Dr. Miro Cerar

Government: Prime Minister, 14 ministers, 2 ministers without portfolio

National Assembly: 90 deputies (88 elected representatives of parliamentary parties, and one representative each from the Italian and Hungarian national communities).

National Council: 40 elected representatives of employers, employees, farmers, tradesmen and the self-employed, as well as from the non-economic sector and local interest groups.

Slovenia - 20 Years of Independence

Slovenia was celebrating the 20th anniversary of independence in 2011. On the special   website you can find a lot of interesting information (chronological and historical information, an abundance of interactive content, etc.).