A presentation of Slovenia and historical towns in Brussels

Slovenian towns

In the European Year of Cultural Heritage, the European Commission in Brussels invited all European countries to mark the year of cultural heritage with various events.  The aim is to “strengthen the contribution of European cultural heritage to the economy and society through the direct and indirect economic potential, which includes the capacity to support cultural and creative industries and to promote creativity and innovation, sustainable development and tourism, stronger social cohesion, and the creation of long-term employment”.

The invitation to prepare various events and activities to mark the European year of cultural heritage was also accepted by the Association of Historical Towns of Slovenia.

Treasures of Slovenian Towns

Slovenian towns are a treasure trove of high-quality and outstanding cultural heritage, and the members of the association, which was founded in 2001 and links 17 towns (municipalities), are well aware of this.
The members of the association understand that towns are both artistic treasures and tourist attractions, and they link together to jointly promote and raise awareness of the importance of cultural heritage for the current and future development of the nation and community.

The Association of Historical Towns of Slovenia includes the following towns: Celje, Idrija, Jesenice, Kamnik, Kostanjevica na Krki, Koper, Kranj, Metlika, Novo mesto, Piran, Ptuj, Radovljica, Slovenske Konjice, Šentjur, Škofja Loka, Tržič and Žužemberk.
This year, the association has already organised several events, and a special event – “The Slovenian Day of Culture” – will be organised in Brussels.  For this occasion, the diversity of Slovenia and its wealth of natural and cultural heritage will be presented.

“The Slovenian Day of Culture” will take place on Esplanade Square in front of the European Parliament on Wednesday, 26 September 2018, from 12 pm to 3 pm.

Slovenske Konjice

Text by Tanja Glogovčan
Photo: STO