Electoral system

The electoral system. Photo: Katarina Krmelj

The deputies of the National Assembly, with the exception of the two representatives of minorities, are elected by proportional representation, with a four per cent electoral threshold required at the national level. The country is divided into eight territorial constituencies, each represented by eleven elected deputies.

For the elections of the representatives of the Italian and Hungarian ethnic communities, two special constituencies are formed, one for each minority. The deputies representing the minorities are elected on the basis of the majority principle.

Members of the National Council who represent social, economic, professional and local interests are elected indirectly.

The President of the Republic and Mayors are elected in direct elections on the basis of an absolute majority. The candidate receiving the majority of valid votes is elected President. If no candidate receives an outright majority in the first round, there is a second round of voting for the two candidates who received the most votes in the first ballot.

According to the Constitution, the right to vote is universal and equal. Every citizen who has attained the age of eighteen years has the right to vote and stand for office. Voting is not compulsory and abstention is not sanctioned.

In 1992, the turnout in the legislative elections was 85.6%, followed by 73.7% in 1996, 70.14% in 2000, 60.6% in 2004, 63.10% in 2008 and 65,60 % in 2011. The voting trends correspond to those in most Western democracies.