In Brief

Slovenia - to the north borders to Austria; Hungary is to the east; Croatia to the south and Italy to the west.


Full name: Republic of Slovenia (Republika Slovenija)

Inhabitants: 2,060,663 (1 October 2013)

Capital: Ljubljana (270,000)

State: Democratic parliamentary republic since 25 June 1991, Member of the European Union since 1 May 2004

Currency: Euro

Official languages: Slovene; in ethnically mixed border areas also Hungarian and Italian

Other languages: English, German, Croatian, Serbian

Largest cities: Maribor, Kranj, Celje, Koper, Novo mesto, Velenje

Religion: Roman Catholic (58%, 2002 census); together there are 43 religious communities registered in Slovenia; among the oldest is the Evangelical Church, most widely spread in the northeastern part of Slovenia

Area: 20,273 km²

Length of borders / 1,370 km: with Austria 318 km, with Italy 280 km, with Hungary 102 km, with Croatia 670 km)

Length of coastline: 46.6 km

Relief: The territory of Slovenia is geographically divided into four basic types of  landscape - Alpine in the north, (42.1%), Mediterranean in the south-west (8.6%), Dinaric in the south (28.1%), and Pannonian in the east (21.2%)

Climate: Alpine, Continental, Mediterranean

Forests: almost 58% of the Slovenia territory

Highest mountain: Triglav 2,864 m

Largest protected area: Triglavski narodni park: 83,807 ha (4% of the territory of Slovenia)

Largest underground cave: Postojnska jama - 24 km

Largest lake: Cerknica Lake (intermittent) - 26 km2

Longest river: Sava - 221 km